Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview de Pixiekitty (USA)

Et hop une petite interview pour bien terminer l'après-midi avec l'américaine Pixiekitty ! Interview réalisée en Décembre 2011... encore une qui a fini perdue dans les méandres de mon disque dur. Sorry for the delay Pixie !

1. How long have you been cosplaying ?

I have cosplaying since 2002, so for seven years.

2. Other hobbies or passions except cosplay ?

I really love web design, and I put a lot of time into my website pixiekitty.net. I also love spending with my husband, friends, and my two cats Kimmie and Franklin.

3. Are you showing yourself in events like E3, ECTS, Comic Con.. ?
I have never been to any of those specific conventions, but I have attended Anime Expo in California. I attend Otakon (a very large anime convention near Washington D.C.) and Dragon Con (a large Sci-fi convention) along with many other smaller conventions every year.

4. The costumes are made all by yourself ?
Yes, I do all of the sewing and make costumes for both my husband and I. My husband helps with props and pattern drafting.

5. How much time do you spend to make one ?

The time I spend on a costume depends on it's complexity and how much time I have to complete it. On a more elaborate or complicated costume, I'd say I could spend anywere from 20-80 hours.

6. Is it expensive to collect all the pieces to build one ?
Most of the time I look around at various stores around in my city or online to find materials for the lowest cost possible, but usually the price of materials adds up really fast! Cosplay is a very expensive hobby in general.

7. When you're cosplaying, do you ever encounter weird or disrespectful people ?
Yes, but surprisingly not that often. Most of the people that I encounter at conventions that come up and talk to me are very nice and have a lot of constructive things to say. I think no matter what you do or where you go, you will always run into weird or disrespectful people. As a cosplayer in costume (especially if you are in a revealing costume) you should be aware that this will probably happen. I try to always be aware of what is going on around me when I am in costumes, and I never walk around alone at conventions.

8. Are you collecting objects like anime figures or statues ?
My husband and I have many anime and video game figures and statues on display in our living room! I also collect San-x nyanko plushies and hamster dolls - I'm a huge animal lover!

9. Do you like mangas paperbooks & animes ?
I am more interested in video games, but I do love certain animes. My favorite anime is currently Last Exile. I also love Digi Charat, Hellsing, Card Captor Sakura, and Chobits!

10. Any cosplay project coming ?
I have a huge book with photos of all the things that I may want to eventually cosplay - and it's a big list! Some of the costumes that I know I will be making in the future include a new Ayane costume from Dead or Alive, Delphine from Last Exile, Chi from Chobits, and Ex-mode Ultimecia from Final Fantasy Dissidia.

11. Do you play video games ? If yes, what type of games ?

Yes! My favorite type of game is action/horror. I love the Resident evil and Silent Hill series. I also like RPG games from the Final Fantasy series. I am currently playing Folklore for the PlayStation 3 - it's a really fun game with a lot of fun costumes for me to possibly cosplay in the future!

12. Any word for people who thinks that cosplay is ridiculous or laughable ?

It's hard to understand what it's all about if you aren't into the hobby yourself - so I could understand how someone on the outside could think that it is weird. It is really just like any other hobby in the end - you put money into it, it takes up free time, and you enjoy doing it! It's a hobby that opens a lot of opportunities that other hobbies do not, such as traveling around the world and meeting great new friends.

13. Thanks for answering the questions, any word for people who gonna read the interview ?
Make sure you're always having fun and ejoying what you do. Cosplay is a fun and creative way to express your artistic side and meet new friends! If you see me around, please say hi!

Page deviantart : http://pixiekitty.deviantart.com/

Page facebook :https://www.facebook.com/pkcosplay

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post