Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview of Kamikozero Cosplay (Russia)

Here is the interview of the amazing and impressive Kamikozero from Russia !

1. For how long have you been in cosplay ?

My cosplay way started in 2009. It means that I have been in cosplay for more than 8 years.

2. Cosplay is a time consuming hobby. how long does it take to craft your costumes ?

It depends of the costume. I can choose pretty simple suits, do them myself and quickly (only takes a few days), and for some cosplays I need help. Their creation takes a few months or more. It also directly depends of free time, inspiration and money.

3. Any other hobby or passion besides cosplaying ?

I collect Monster High dolls, like to do fitness in my free time, take care of my pets and make homemade cakes on order.

4. What materials are you using for cosplay crafting, worbla ? Foam ? Can you talk about that a little bit ?

Most often it's eva foam and plastiс PVC. These materials are quite cheap and simple to use for me. I have not tried other materials. In addition, I order more complex props at cosplay workshops.

5. Do you have any favorite cosplayer ?

In Russia one of my favorite cosplayer is Narga, abroad I like Kamui cosplay and Alyson Tabbitha.

6. Did you hurt yourself while making a cosplay or in convention ?

Yes, but it were not scary cases. Often it turns out that cosplay causes pain to the legs (high heels and uncomfortable shoes), to the head because of the wigs, masks squeezes your face and head and you also fell eyes pain because of the contac tlenses. In some suits it is not comfortable to walk or sit ... So I choose simple cosplays for myself to feel comfortable in it, but even with simple suits this is rarely obtained. 

7. Do you sell your old cosplays, or just keep it in a huge closet ?

For the most favorites I leave them in my closet, but sometimes I reuse it for another cosplay, the rest of them I sell it. But over time I understand that keeping old (but favorite costumes) does not make sense and I sell them too !

8. Who teached you to craft your cosplays ? Your family ? By reading books or watching youtube tutorials ?

My grandmother taught me how to sew, but I still do it badly, so I often go to cosplay workshops. To create an accessory I get help from friends and youtube tutorials.

9. Which conventions are you going to this year ?

Ava Expo in St. Petersburg.

10. What is your limit budget for a cosplay ?

In different ways, depending on the complexity of the costume. But I try not to save on cosplay.

11. Any future super secret cosplay project in mind ?

I will keep it a secret ! But I will say that this is again a DС comics character.

12. What are you doing in "real" life for a living ?

My hobby is my job. My main activity and work is homemade cakes and cupcakes on order. I will also make custom-made accessories for cosplay, this also brings me an income.

13. You best experience from a convention ? And your worst ?

My favorite convention is STARCON in St. Petersburg. I was unrealistically happy to win in this convention with my Starfire cosplay this year. It means a lot to me.

14. Any advice for cosplay beginners ?

Creating a good cosplay requires a lot of time, money and force. Be prepared for that. And also choose your characters to cosplay under your type, be closely acquainted with your cosplay fandom. I do not like cosplay for the sake of hype and do not approve it. Dont do that. Only inspiration and love for the character helps you to make your cosplay excellent.

15. Do you have limits ? Some cosplays you will never make ?

I dream of making Wonder Woman, but I need a muscle mass for this. It's very difficult for me... Maybe someday... But I'm not yet in the form for this, I can’t make my goddess cosplay.

Her FB page : https://www.facebook.com/kamikozerocospay/

Her DA page : https://kamiko-zero.deviantart.com

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post