Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview de Metamorph Cosplay (Germany)

Here is the interview of a duo ! Let met present you these wonderful ladies of Metamorph Cosplay from Germany !

1. For how long have you been in cosplay ?

We both cosplay since 2012. Our first Cosplay was Flaaffy and Squirtle from Pokémon! The Cosplays were pretty crappy because we had no idea how to sew or how to craft some things, but nevertheless we really like our Cosplays!

2. Cosplay is a time consuming hobby. how long does it take to craft your costumes ?

Hannah:     
I personaly need a lot of time to craft a Cosplay. But that has some reasons. One reason is that I don't have that much money (at the moment) because I am still going to school, so I just get pocketmoney from my parents which isn't much. So I really need to save a lot of money befor I can start with a new Cosplay. Another reason is that I sometimes just don't have time (even if I have motivation) because I need to learn for an exam which is really annoying. But over all I would say that I need 2 month for full armor if I could work every day.

Wiebke:
I'm also a student in my last year now, so I've the same problems like Hannah. I approximately need a month for less crafting costumes and around two month for armor intensive costumes. But I'm getting faster with every costume.

3. Any other hobby or passion besides cosplaying ?

Hannah:     
Yes, I have other hobbies. I really enjoy playing videogames! Beside Cosplay, that is my hobby were I spend the most time for. But I also love singing (I take lessons for it, even if it is a little bit weird xD) and drawing!

Wiebke:
I also play videogames, I think you're able to see it from our cosplays too (except our fauns they are all from videogames ^^).
I also love to draw and I'm just about to make my motorcycle license. 

4. What materials are you using for cosplay crafting, worbla ? Foam ? Can you talk about that a little bit ? I've seen we have transparent worbla now...

Most of the time we use Worblas Finest Art but when we started with crafting armors we only used foam (for example the Lightning Cosplay was only made of foam and also a lot of details from Serah where made out of foam). But we also worked with materials like worblas deco art, Kobracast, expending foam and wood. We didn't worked with Worblas Transpa Art yet, but we have sample at home, so we will work with it pretty soon. 

5. Do you have any FAVORITE cosplayer ?

Hannah:     
My absolutely favorit Cosplayer is Lightning Cosplay! It's not only that her work is stunning and she just does a perfect job in every single cosplay, I also had the chance to met her in person and she is just such a nice and kind person! She really takes the time to talk to her fans in an absolutely natural way! émoticône smile But there are also a lot of Cosplayer that I really really like!

Wiebke:
I don't have a special one, but I like the work of Lightning, Kamui, Nightshift, Volli Cosplay (his page is only in german) and a few more émoticône smile

6. Did you hurt yourself while making a cosplay or in a convention ?

Hannah:    
Oh yes, quite often! I burn and cut myself pretty often! But I think that is normal if you work with thermoplastic materials or styrodur.  

Wiebke:
Yes! Besides the usual harmless burns and cuts I already had a little "heavier"accident with my craft knife. I just had changed the blade and I slipped. The result: a short hospital visit, three stitches and a scar on my leg.

7. Do you sell your old cosplays, or just keep it in a huge closet ?

Hannah:     
I personally keep my Cosplays because I spend so much time working on them that it is just way to hard to sell them. But It's not that I didn't thought to do it. Sometimes I just wish I could do it because  Cosplay is an expensive hobby and I really could need the money.

Wiebke:
I'm also keeping them. On the one hand because I spend so much time for them and on the other hand because I wouldn't expect someone to wear these often unconfortable costumes I made... I tolerate unconfortaleness in favor of appearance, but just for myself émoticône wink

8. Who teached you to craft your cosplays ? Your family ? By reading books or watching youtube tutorials ?

We didn't had a person who teaches us the technics, so we learned most of the things by ourselfs. But it always helps a lot to see the progress of other Cosplayers. 

9. Which conventions are you going to this year ?

This year we wan't to go to the Gamescom in Cologne and maybe to the MMC in Berlin. 

10. What is your limit budget for a cosplay ?

Hannah:     
I personally don't have a limit budget for Cosplay. Everytime I try to get the materials as cheap as possible but I always ended up that I spend WAY more money then I expected. For example my Thrall Cosplay. I tried to spend about 200€  for everything (I had worbla leftovers at home so that shouldn't have been a problem) but in the end I needed  400€ for everything, which was twice as much then I wanted to pay.

Wiebke:
I don't have a real limit aswell. If I don't have money for something I've to economize and buy it later. Ofcourse I'm sometimes searching for cheaper materials (like cheaper fabric), but the quality of the costume has priority.

11. Any future super secret cosplay project in mind ?

Hannah:    
Oh yes, of course. We want to cosplay Headhunter Nidalee and Headhunter Caitlyn in the near future as a partner Cosplay. And I personally want to cosplay a lot! My list is pretty long and every day there are more and more characters that I fall in love with. The newest Character of my list is Kotal Kahn from Mortal Kombat X who's design is incredibly awesome. And everybody who knows me knows that I am a BIG fan of genderbend Cosplays so he just fits perfect in my schedule.

Wiebke:
Hundreds! A self designed armored version of princess Peach, some other League of Legends characters, a Castanic berserker from Tera and many other ideas... we will see how many of them I'll be able to realize.

12. What are you doing in "real" life for a living ?

Hannah:    
As I already said, I am still going to school at the moment but I wrote my final exams so if everything works fine I should get my graduation this year. But I am not quite sure what I can do after this. Maybe I focus more on Cosplay and think of a Job I could do in the future.

Wiebke:
Right now I'm a student (just the oral exam is left to do) and I'm uncertain what I wan't to do after my graduation. I'm sending out application for some more creative jobs, I'll see what is going to happen.

13. You best experience from a convention ? And your worst ?

Hannah:    
I don't really had a worse experience of a convention so there are always just positive things that happen. What I really love is when pensioners (up to now only at the Leipziger Bookfair) come to me and are completely interested in what Cosplay is and how we made everything. They are really enthusiastic about our work and they don't judge us for what we are doing. So this is something I really love! And it is also pretty cool if I find someone who has the same enthusiasm for the charakter that I cosplay!

Wiebke:
It's always funny to meet al this different people that are interested in cosplay, it dosen't matter if they are cosplaying thereself and exchange experiences with you or if they are just curios because they never saw something like this before. Luckily I never had bad experience so far, just typical mess like broken costumeparts, open seams and painful feet.

14. Any advice for cosplay wannabees or beginners ?

Hannah:    
Just put all your love for the Character in your Cosplay and have fun with your friends! Oh, and you never should be too shy to ask another Cosplayer for hints! The most people are really cooperarive.

Wiebke:
You never stop learning! Don't get intermidiated if something dosen't work out like you wanted. In the cosplay community are many people who can answer all your questions and give you hints, some even did great tutorials.
Some things need their time and a little practice, so just don't give up. 

15. Do you have limits ? Some cosplays you will never make (too sexy, too hard, too heavy...) ?

Hannah:    
Presonally I don't have limits. If I fall in love with a character and his design I just feel the need to cosplay him! The only thing that I wouldn't do is cosplaying a character which is too revealing because I just don't think that I am thin enough for a Cosplay like this. But if I would be thinner I would definitely do it. 

Wiebke:
I also wouldn't cosplay too revealing charakters, I don't want to be scared the whole time that I could be half nacked when I move wrong. I'm also not building too big weapon, not because I want them to be small but because the rules for conventions are often pretty strickt.

Leur page facebook : https://www.facebook.com/MetamorphCosplay/

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post