Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview of Angel Envy (Russia)

Here it is ! The first interview of 2018 ! And it's the amazing and beautiful Angel Envy from Russia !

1. For how long have you been in cosplay ?

I started to cosplay in 2010. Here in Russia I'm one of the first who started to be engaged with it. You can say I'm a real dinosaur in the world of cosplay.

2. Cosplay is a time consuming hobby. how long does it take to craft your costumes ?

Every time I do my costumes, I do it for a long time. Everything depends on the complexity of the image and its details. The longest time for a costume took me 6 months, because I altered it several times, but I can do the rest of the costumes in 2 months, the fastest ones in a week.

3. Any other hobby or passion besides cosplaying ?

I draw concept art for games, I also like horse riding very much !

4. What materials are you using for cosplay crafting, worbla ? Foam ? Can you talk about that a little bit ?

My favorite material can be considered to be Eva-foam, as well as Polymorphus and Penoplex. Most of my costumes are made from Eva of different density and thickness. To work with is a pleasure, I use Polimorphus for jaws of monsters or various small details, and Penoplex is for weapons. Unfortunately, I do not have so much money for my costumes, so I haven't worked with Worbla yet. Here in Russia we have our own analogue of Worbla, for example Bablstar or Varaform. I really want to try to work with them !

5. Do you have any FAVORITE cosplayer ?

Among foreign cosplayers, I can say that my favorites are Kamui, Lightning cosplay, Yaya Han, Jessica Nigri.

6. Did you hurt yourself while making a cosplay or in a convention ?

During the creation of costumes, I often cut myself or burn myself. And at the events themselves, I often suffer from pain in the back and legs.

7. Do you sell your old cosplays, or just keep it in a huge closet ?

I'm certainly trying to make money, by renting or selling my suits. But given that most of the prices are low and my thin silhouette does not allow many suits to be bought, so most of it still lies in the closet.

8. Who teached you to craft your cosplays ? Your family ? By reading books or watching youtube tutorials ?

When I started to cosplay here in Russia it really was the beginning and most of the costumes were done on a whim, as well as my own mistakes. Now, since cosplay has grown much, we have a lot of tutorials and books, but I'm already learning from my experience by doing everything by myself.

9. Which conventions are you going to this year ?

I really want to go to Starcon 2018 and Igromir 2018. And from abroad my dream is to go to Comic Con, BlizzCon, DragonCon or DreamHack.

10. What is your limit budget for a cosplay ?

Oh the limit is always different for me. Sometimes I'm ready to give 60,000 rubles (866eur), and sometimes only 10,000 (145eur). It all depends on what I need at the moment. The most expensive costume costs 60.000r.

11. Any future super secret cosplay project in mind ?

Alexstrasza of Warcraft, Black Widow from Overwatch and BloodRayne.

12. What are you doing in "real" life for a living ?

In ordinary life, I could do everything. Because I'm constantly changing jobs. Currently I'm learning to be a conceptual artist for games.

13. You best experience from a convention ? And your worst ?

The best it was getting acquainted with Limbic Entertainment Company with the creative director Evan Lebrenton. And also last year on Igromir with THQ company Nordic and its developers. The worst : nothing !

14. Any advice for cosplay wannabees or beginners ?

Do not be afraid of new opportunities, do not listen to evil tongues and and put a lot of time and energy in your hobby.

15. Do you have limits ? Some cosplays you will never make (too sexy, too hard, too heavy...) ?

There is a restriction : too much sexy costumes 18+, and any complicated crafting I just try to do. It's interesting and a new experience !

Her facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/GayneToboe

Her deviantart page : https://envytakiro.deviantart.com/

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post