Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview of Nibu Cosplay (Canada)

Here is the interview of the wonderful Nibu from Canada !

1. For how long have you been in cosplay ?

I started cosplaying in 2011 but started making my own cosplay in very late 2014.

2. Cosplay is a time consuming hobby. how long does it take to craft your costumes ?

It can really depends. I would say it is really rare to have a costume under 100 hours of work for me ! Between managing life, cosplay and my work, I can say I take about 4-6 weeks per cosplay.

3. Any other hobby or passion besides cosplaying ?

Like any other little Otaku out there, I love mangas, anime and video games !

4. What materials are you using for cosplay crafting, worbla ? Foam ? Can you talk about that a little bit ?

I started using Worbla for my first armor and stick to it for about 2.5 years. Then, I used only foam for the first time this summer and felt in love with it ! I will continue to use both, depending on the project. If I need a smaller armor, open breastplate, small leg armors or any of this worth, I will use Worbla. For any big, bulky armored cosplay, I will gladly use foam !

5. Do you have any favorite cosplayer ?

Of course ! I have a lot of cosplayer I look up to ! I have several Senpais all around the globe, but to name some of them, Lightning Cosplay, Kamui Cosplay, Crimson Needle and Lux Cosplay are in my top !

6. Did you hurt yourself while making a cosplay or in convention ?

Well.. yes, all the time ! I am a bit clumsy when it comes to sewing sometimes... so I stab myself a lot with pins ! The only time I hurt myself at a convention was because of high heels, which gave me a long-term nail issue.

7. Do you sell your old cosplays, or just keep it in a huge closet ?

I do not sell my cosplays for a very simple reason: I specialize in Gijinka creations. Which means, that I design almost all my cosplay myself. They are my designs, I created and draw them. Therefore, I do not really see myself selling them. I keep them for now, but I have trown some away in the past too.

8. Who teached you to craft your cosplays ? Your family ? By reading books or watching youtube tutorials ?

The best teacher: Youtube ! I learned how to sew about 3 years ago with Youtube. I bought a very cheap 50$ sewing manchine and just practice over and over again. As for armor making, I learned a lot with Kamui Cosplay tutorials.

9. Which conventions are you going to this year ?

So far, my 2018 conventions look like : G-Anime, Nadeshicon, Ottawa Comiccon, Montreal Comic con, Saggeek, Yeticon, Otakuthon, Animaracon, ColossalCon East and Quebec Comic con.

10. What is your limit budget for a cosplay ?

Yes... and no. It all depends if I plan to compete in a Cosplay Competition with a project. If the answer is yes, then, I will take my time to find the most perfect material, planning the expenses overtime, etc.

11. Any future super secret cosplay project in mind ?

Yes I do !

12. What are you doing in "real" life for a living ?

I am a full-time Artist and Broadcaster on Twitch.

13. You best experience from a convention ? And your worst ?

My best experience is always either with friends or during a cosplay competition. Both are very different feelings but complete me and bring me joy and proud ! As for the worst, seriously, nothing comes to mind. I tend to have great friends and people around me so we can all have a great time ! I did not really had any issues with creeps and strangers in conventions.

14. Any advice for cosplay beginners ?

Always challenge yourself. Never stay in your comfort zone. There is something you want to try ? Try ! LED, sewing, embroideries, worbla, armors, wig styling ? Do some researches and try ! Finally, cosplay for fun. The best moments are always with friends, doing shenanigans during conventions or at photoshoots.

15. Do you have limits ? Some cosplays you will never make ?

Yes I do. Even with all the makeup, binding, fairy dust and sacrifices to the Cosplay Gods, there are some very tall and manly characters that I love, but will never do justice. RIP for Vegeta !

Her FB page : https://www.facebook.com/Nibu.Cosplay/

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post