Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Mercenar Cosplay Fanpage

Interview of Ailiroy (Greece)

We continue with the interview of the beautiful Ailiroy from Greece !

1. For how long have you been in cosplay ?

I started cosplaying around 2011-2012 (that makes about 6-7 years).

2. Cosplay is a time consuming hobby. How long does it take to craft your costumes ?

For me it's anywhere between two days and two months. I have worked a lot with fabrics and patterns so a base garment or armor takes little time for me. The hardest part for me is making the details to look the way I want. 

3. Any other hobby or passion besides cosplaying ?

I usually play video games when I have time. But my side passion is fortune telling. I have a nice collection of different tarot and oracle decks and I tell fortunes occasionally.

4. What materials are you using for cosplay crafting, worbla, foam ? Can you talk about that a little bit ?

I usually work with foam. I can work with it as if it was a fabric and make nice armor parts when thick. I can work the surface easilly and make it rough or smooth. I can put fabric over it. Such potential. I've used worbla only to cover foam pieces so far or add details. I want to work with it more but my budget is usually limited.   

5. Do you have any favorite cosplayer ?

I can't easily choose. I have a list of favourites, like December Wynn, J. Hart Design, Alchemical Cosplay, Ferasha Cosplay, Enayla cosplay, the list goes on.

6. Did you hurt yourself while making a cosplay or in a convention ?
 
Small cuts and burns only during crafting, I'm lucky so far.

7. Do you sell your old cosplays, or just keep it in a huge closet ?

A bit of both. I like using a costume again and again but sometimes you need new room and I can't afford a new closet.

8. Who teached you to craft your cosplays ? Your family ? Reading books or watching tutorials ?

I started alone with trial and error. That went well. Then I had some advice from other cosplayers and as I went on I knew what to look for on youtube and in various books when I needed very specific info. I usually don't seek any help. Which I don't advice doing, cause reinventing the wheel is slow and heartbraking.  

9. Which conventions are you going to this year ?

I have already attended Comicdom Cosplay 2018 in Athens, where I was a guest. I'm getting ready for Gameathlon 2018 and I hope to attend more, like eGaming, Fantasticon and Athenscon, but nothing is sure cause, well, life !

10. What is your limit budget for a cosplay ?

So far I hit the wall at 200-250 for one costume. The budget gets as far as a wallet can go. That is my only limit. 

11. Any future super secret cosplay project in mind ?

Wouldn't be secret if I told you. But I usually don't keep secrets. I like posting progress pics and bitching over them.   

12. What are you doing in "real" life for a living ?

I'm working here and there. For now, I'm a trainer in a park while also studying.

13. You best experience from a convention ? And your worst ?

My best experience so far was when I sang the "Wolven Storm", as Priscilla from Witcher 3, live on stage for a cosplay group competition. It was so fullfiling and even more when our group won the first place. I don't think I have had a bad experience from conventions so far. I always have fun and find plenty of things to do. 

14. Any advice for cosplay wannabees or beginners ?

No matter how small or big a costume is, it always needs attention and love to be completed. Start with your favourite character no matter what the difficulty level is. Take your time, it doesn't have to finish tomorrow. Study your body and compliment it.   

15. Do you have limits ? Some cosplays you will never make (too sexy, too hard, too heavy...) ?

For me there is no limit if I'm able to create it. I can be sexy, I can challenge myself, and I can lift weights (usually). 

Her facebook page : https://www.facebook.com/ailiroy/

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post